Be Healthy. For Life.

Biles Family Chiropractic

Whatever happened to real food? February 7, 2009

Filed under: nutrition — Chris Biles @ 4:11 pm

Why do we have a tendency to take simple subjects and complicate them? I shouldn’t have to have a degree in mathematics or bring a dictionary to the store in order to do my grocery shopping. Yet all the major diet gurus and systems are telling me to count calories, points or calculate blocks. I’m also supposed to “know” what I’m eating by reading the labels. I know I’ve got to watch out for MSG and trans fats but what about the sodium acid pyrophosphate, magnesium oxide, and soy lecithin in my Country Time Lemonade? Are those good for me? I don’t know what to do!!!

How about this. Try eating real food that’s found in nature. Food that spoils. Food with ingredients that you can pronounce. Food that is free of added flavors, colors and other junk. This type of food is typically found on the outer perimeter of the supermarket and usually not down the aisles. Better yet support your local farmer’s market and beef producers. Find one near you- www.localharvest.org

Healthy foods are rarely ripped open from a plastic package or box. Start eating the real stuff today.

Here’s a great clip from Andy Rooney on this:

 

Leave a Reply

