Be Healthy. For Life.

Biles Family Chiropractic

What’s on our plate? February 21, 2009

Filed under: nutrition,Recipes,WOOP — Chris Biles @ 9:23 am

We get asked all the time, ” What do you guys eat?”  To be honest, we kinda subscribe to the “everything in moderation” camp for the most part. There was a time when I was hooked on breads, rice and pasta and about the only thing green I would eat was key lime pie. But times have changed. I now eat plenty of green, yellow, and red foods that don’t involve artificial coloring and I feel all the better for it.

This “what’s on our plate” section will be a collection of some of our favorite meals and foods- some quick and easy and some that take a little more planning. I hope you enjoy.

This was a salad that we put together one Sunday after church. It was a bunch of mixed greens, topped with leftover steak (sliced), tortilla strips,and chopped avocado. I cut the corn tortillas rather quickly into strips with a pizza cutter and fried them in olive oil. I  added sea salt as they cooled. I then cut the steak into strips, diced the avocado and made my dressing out of 2 parts olive oil and 1 part balsamic vinegar. What came together was a quick, tasty, Zone-ish meal that took less than 15 minutes to put together.

dsc00036

 

Leave a Reply

